September 11th 2013


9-11_Statue_of_Liberty_and_WTCOn September 10, 2001 I was at work at a new job. My boss was nice enough to give me the next day off for my birthday. I was in a good mood that morning until a tragic accident happened when a cylinder being filled with high pressure gas gave out resulting in a co-worker losing his legs and if not for the quick thinking by his fellow employees, his life as well. O.S.H.A. closed us down pending an investigation. I remember waking up on September 11th feeling very sad and trying my best to get in a better mood as I got my children ready for school. Then I turned on the news and watched the events of 9-11 unfold. I watch live as the second tower was hit. An hour later work called, O.S.H.A. had lifted it’s suspension and I was needed to come in and help pump oxygen for New York. I’ll never forget coming into work and seeing the destruction in the aftermath of the explosion and listening to the news on the radio and working hard to get that oxygen out, it was surreal. It’s a day I’ll never forget. The following week I would find out that someone I went to school with, someone I went into the Army with, was in the South tower.

Now I am once again reminded of that day, and yet again it’s met with anger and disbelief. It’s hard to understand how our current president can ask the American people on the eve of this date to back another war. Another war that could result in further attacks on U.S. soil. Another war that we not only should not be involved in but one we can not win.

And on top of it Washington gave permission for Muslim groups to congregate on the national mall to protest the actual facts of 9-11.

I suppose it doesn’t really matter what the leaders of this country do anymore. We as the people need to stand strong and honor those who lost their lives that day and to those who died trying to help.

Freedom comes at a cost, yet so does collateral damage. If one innocent life is lost while attacking Syria than it’s not worth the price. Hundreds of women and children have already been killed in “Targeted” drone attacks by this administration. Lets not be fooled by smooth talk and slippery words.

Bless the fallen, and never forget.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

