Why is Boston an act of Terror?


Boston Marathon ExplosionsI have to ask the question. Only because I am having trouble understanding. What constitutes the bombing in Boston this past week an act of terror? Why was Columbine High School called a massacre and not an act of terror? Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold killed 13 people and injured 42 others. They were armed with semi-automatic weapons and explosive devices. In Aurora, Colorado James Eagan Holmes killed 12 and injured 58. He too was armed with semi-automatic weapons and had booby-trapped his home with explosives. This past Christmas Adam Lanza killed 26 right here in Connecticut in what was called a mass shooting and a tragedy.

So why is it that the brothers in Boston are labeled terrorist. Is it because there were more than one? Well that can’t be, there were two in Colorado. It can’t be because they were out to kill Americans, all the others were as well. Is it because they were of a Muslim faith? Maybe that is the answer. I always thought to be a terrorist you would have to be acting on the part of larger group or origination. Another country even. It can’t be because they used bombs. Two of the past three had bombs. Maybe it’s because they didn’t have assault rifles. Boston police believe they were carrying only pistols.

SWAT teams enter a suburban neighborhood to search an apartment

I understand the frustration of the city of Boston as well as our nation. These two boys committed a heinous act against humanity in our own backyard. But I still can not figure out what makes them a terrorist. On 9-11 the men involved were part of a bigger picture. They were trained in America, by Americans to fly. Yet they were killing on the behalf of a terrorist organization.
CelebrationI was in Boston the morning after the youngest of the two was captured in a dry docked boat. While listening to conversations from local residents as well as the hundreds of messages posted on Facebook and Twitter about how excited people were that they caught this monster, I couldn’t help but feel sad. I couldn’t rejoice in any of this. There was nothing at all about this that made me want to cheer. A 19-year-old boy was somehow converted or manipulated into helping out his brother carry out an act of murder. 19. What kind of shape were you in at 19 years old? Of course you would have never done anything like this. But maybe, just maybe, there is more to all this. We should get the the bottom of this of course. I just feel that if a boy so young could be capable of just a ruthless act, there must be someone else to blame for such behavior. He could not have been in his right mind.
28954ad247788a0d2f0f6a706700416aAnd let’s be honest. Thousands of armed, highly trained grown men, with fully automatic assault rifles, bullet proof vests and night vision goggles. Helicopters and tanks. Infrared spot lights, stun grenades, tear gas and the resources of the F.B.I, the C.I.A, and the president himself. Did you expect him to escape? I am shocked that a teenage boy slipped away from all of them to begin with. Twice! And shut an entire city down in the process. It did make for exciting television though didn’t it.

Well I am glad they caught those responsible. I am not happy that the kid did not get read his rights. I don’t agree with saving his life just to take it on their terms. I really wish they would have asked me if it was okay to spend my hard-earned tax money that way. I am sure 90 percent of the people would say no. But then again we all know that when the government says 90 percent of America, they mean 90 percent of the 10 people they surveyed.

Anyway. I pray for the victims of this tragedy. Some who will never recover. I hope that justice can be served while the constitution remains intact. And I hope that the next time a country warns us about someone, we listen.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Conspiracy Theory, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why is Boston an act of Terror?

  1. Good questions Paul. I hope it draws attention to the fact that all crimes are acts of terror, for they terrify those who experience them and witness them – regardless of who committed them. Very good post indeed. And like you, I to lift up to heaven the hearts of the heavy from this tragedy and from life’s daily tragedies … Sheri

    Like

  2. liz says:

    i could not agree more with you. peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

