Ain’t No Fools Paradise


Lost_At_Sea_by_DVLIACA man, drifting in an open sea.
Shipwrecked, clinging to a broken beam.
Waters on his neck as he strains to catch his breath.
Drifting in the boundaries, built by his own hands.
Struggles in the waves, the illusion of the strand.
He prays that he’ll find land.

I have no need for false paradise.
I see our love with open eyes.
In an instant I came to realize.
This ain’t no fool’s paradise.

hi-256-0-4378d5db1c56983ab8a07be0fedc10385ac77c06A man, lost in the heat of the desert.
His mind plays tricks and he forgets his name.
He searches for life and prays for rain.
He looks to the place where the sand meets the sky.
He sees a lake filled with water but knows it’s a lie.
Yet be believes in it anyway.
The only way he’ll survive another day.

From the first time that I saw you.
Bows in your hair and that weathering stare.
I knew reality came way, you took my breath away.
No mirage on the horizon in the visions I saw.
No waves on the shores of Sangrilaga.

I know that in your arms is where the truth lies.
I walk through this world with open eyes.
This ain’t no fools paradise.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

