I’ll Meet You In The Breeze


WIECAVPGEPLCA4TZVDBCAQRIHUMCA3LBAM1CAB633CYCAAAJGYKCA2AXAL6CACAWNQ6CAG01NSJCA1KF8A9CA3AJU1YCANTCNEBCAQFQWSKCAGLOE30CA15S9WCCAMKW3ZHCAK1QDPVCAXPM6NVIt seems so long ago. Since future turned to memory and another sleepless night.
It seems like yesterday, we walked along the sand, hand inside of hand. Before mourning replaced daylight and took you from my sight.

It seems like forever since I first looked into your eyes and saw where Heaven lies.
Like a destiny in waiting, set aside and prearranged.
I knew in that very moment, life would be forever changed.

I still feel the breeze upon my face as we sat side by side on that old redwood porch, watching our children play. The smell of fresh-cut grass on that perfect Summer day. As they ran around the maple tree, foot steps imprinted and quickly fade away. You promised you would never leave. But here I am, all alone and far from fair. Resting in unrest, beside this empty chair.

I still hear those words you said.
Do not cry for me, I am leaving but will never be gone.. If you ever need me, I’ll be there.
You can find me in the Summer breeze
In the winds that blow in from the sea.
In the falling Autumn leaves.
Around the purple maple tree.
Look and you will see.
Just meet me in the breeze.

Now left alone to raise our kids in a decade of Novembers. Time has never healed, but eternal thoughts remember.
We never planned for future days. Never looked forward to tomorrow. We lived within the now, no time was left to lend or barrow. We spent every second that we earned. The midnight oil daily burned, a lesson that was quickly learned.
Yet what I would give for another day, another kiss, a touch.
For I have become only half as much.

So when I get lonely, and feel I can’t go on. I find myself walking down those redwood steps to the grassy yard below. I open up my arms and wait for your embrace.

I’ll find you in the Summer breeze
In the winds that blow in from the sea.
In the falling Autumn leaves.
Around the purple maple tree.
Please come back to me.
and meet me in the breeze.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Life experience, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’ll Meet You In The Breeze

  1. denmother says:

    These are beautiful words. Yours? Your story? Wow.
    Denmother

    Like

  2. This poem is deeply touching – beautiful. Sad.
    I want to say more, because your poem, and you, deserve it. But I have no words – I’m in a place of feeling instead.

    Like

  3. Dragonwyst says:

    Thank you for following me. This is a beautiful and touching poem. Well-crafted – it honours your missed half so tenderly.

    Like

  4. coastalmom says:

    The title caught me off guard. It made me look and then read. Breath taking from the Title to the end. Iconic for so many hearts. You captured it here. Following you is as easy as breathing. You have a fan in me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

