House of the Triple S

light-under-doorComplete darkness, except for the thin beam of light that found its way through the crack of the closet door.  I hoped that if I stood quiet enough I would somehow vanish from that bedroom and awaken within the comforts of my own blankets. Sweat beaded up on my forehead until it formed a steady stream flowing onto my neck and down the middle of my back.

I could see the shadows flickering across my bare feet as the angry man on the other side of the doors paced back and forth. In all of my 16 years, I had neveer been so close to death.

He had heard someone else in the room other than his daughter. The door was locked when he tried turning the handle, which enraged him even further. He pounded on the door so hard I was sure it would give way. Like bolts of lightning sending…

View original post 647 more words

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

