Religion in 2013


So my nine-year old daughter keeps asking me what religion we are. I keep side stepping this subject until she gets older. I never know what to say that would make sense to her. But looking at my older kids and their lack of knowledge or belief is making me take a step back and reevaluate the subject. Not only that but my six-year-old is asking me if we could go to church. Now she has never been before but sees it in the movies all the time and is curious.

religion (1)I grew up in a very religious household. My family gatherings played out more like church meetings than celebratory events. Ever single aspect of our lives revolved around religion. So when I struck out on my own I left it far behind me. But as time went by, I began to feel like something was missing. Part of me was somehow not there anymore. So I set out on kind of quest to find a religion that I could believe in. I felt connected to certain beliefs of my childhood congregation. But could never again be part of an organization which had no clue as how to teach or nurture children.

So I found myself attending Sunday mass over Sunday mass. Catholic, Lutheran, Baptist, Methodist. I went to Mormon, Calvary and Jewish temple. I studied Buddhist, Koran, Hinduism. But I just never felt connected to any of them. So I remained lost to the whole concept of organised religion.

But still, I have these young eyes looking at me and asking me what to believe in. They feel the connection to their spirituality but have no idea what it is or how to understand it.

religionThis is something I have always struggled with and I suppose will never really grasp myself. So as a part of this new year I plan on setting aside a couple of hours every Sunday to take my little ones to church. My six-year-old suggested, all on her own mind you, that we try a different church in town each weekend until we find one that she likes going to. She is where I was only twenty years earlier.

This should be an interesting journey I will take notes on each location and write about our adventure. I explained that if we start this, we have to give it at the very least, six tries. So if your out there God, and your listening. Here’s your chance. Touch the hearts of my children and show them the one true path. I have chosen mine many years ago. It would be nice if they found a different one so to avoid making the same mistakes I did.

I believe most churches main focus is on money, power and control. They read passages from an outdated book and speak only to the adults. Lets see if I can actually find one that speaks from the heart, relates to the youth, and truly enlightens.

I’ll keep you posted.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Life experience, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Religion in 2013

  1. Mark says:

    I am an atheist and and as far back as I can remember I told my kids that I don’t believe in God or any messiah. When my kids were very young my wife joined the Mormon church (big mistake) but i did support her because she was looking for spiritual guidance in her life and I loved her so I went along with it. I asked the church members that came to our home many time that I wasn’t interested and they just wouldn’t take “no” for an answer. After a few years my wife left the Mormon church and then it was like they pulled out all the stops to get her back in the fold. Finally after writing letters to the “missionaries” and slamming the the front door on them about 10 time they got the message. When you have “missionaries” showing up at your door 20 or 30 times a year their are becoming religious pests. Now we have moved and left no forwarding address so they can’t find us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

