Record Straightening


drugsJust wanted to set the record straight so to speak. I know that a few of my blogs tell stories of drug use and reckless living habits. I know it seems that I make light of drinking and driving and getting high. The reality is I do know and understand how such behavior can lead down some pretty dark roads. I know the dangers of a life without regard. But you have to understand that in Hollywood in the 80’s, this was normal. Every day everyone was drunk or high, usually both. Even if you were not part of the metal scene and the Sunset strip. Those who listened to Oingo Boingo, Blondie or Madonna and went to dance clubs in the valley still were drunk and high on a daily basis.

I am sure there were those who did not partake. Just as my parents in the 60’s never really lived in the 60’s. But Every one I knew did. It was part of the daily routine.

I have since left that life far behind. But I don’t regret any of it. I lived the life and lived to tell about it. Would I do it again? You bet I would. Would I have gotten out sooner? You bet I would have. But life never takes the roads we plan on traveling down. You live your life the best you know how and fight to stay true to who you are and things usually work themselves out.Sunset_Blvd__photo

The 80’s are gone and thank god they are. If grunge did not come along and kill it, no one would have made it out of that decade of decadence.

About paulsdahlman

Born in Southern California, raised on the road and now growing roots in New England. I am on the journey of my lifetime. May the footprints I leave behind form the words to my story.
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Life experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

